VARIEGATION (IoT Based Home Automation System)

“Imagination is more important than knowledge. For knowledge is limited, whereas imagination embraces the entire world, stimulating progress, giving birth to evolution.”
Albert Einstein

What is VARIEGATION?

Inspiration


I had been doing “IoT” for quite some time now. I wanted to try out something through which I could understand IoT as a whole. If you want to know more about IoT, You can read What is IoT ? and To start with the IoT Architecture and Reference Model.

If you want something to happen where is it better to start off? Right from your home.. Right ???
So, I chose to build an IoT based home automation system which can at least automate my room and manage some businesses for me.

Not just for the sake of technology. I wanted to implement IoT in my house to have a simpler life. My house takes care of what I need so that I could focus on greater and more complex pieces.

V 1.0


The whole application is an open source project which can be found on Github .

As I mentioned earlier it will be designed in phases. Here is the Version 1.0 of my IoT based home automation system VARIEGATION v1.0.

The 1st version will have limited functionalities which are”

  • Controling LED lights through 3 interfaces:
    • Web UI
    • Websockets for real time updates
    • Mobile APP
    • Google Assistant
  • Playing music and syncing light to music
  • Monitor the following:

    • Room Temperature and Humidity
    • Comparative analysis of Room and Atmospheric parameters
    • IoT gateway performance monitoring
      • CPU usage and memory utilization
      • CPU Temperature
    • Visualise all the data on the web UI as well as the Mobile APP

Note:- The gateway written for this application is named as Spectrum. You can find the code on Github.

Let’s get a bit technical

  • The Web Server and the UI will be hosted on a cloud platform
  • Backend in NodeJs and Express
  • UI in Angular 4
  • Mobile APP in IONIC Framework
  • Google Assistant Chat Bot using Dialogflow

Here is the flowchart of the whole operation

Flow chart

Let’s have a look at the Web UI

Light Room

Light Room

Data Room

Data Room

Music Room

Music Room

Watch the video for a better understanding

5 thoughts on “VARIEGATION (IoT Based Home Automation System)

  1. Do you have a concrete example? Do you have a site or a tutorial from beginning to end? Example: if you are starting from a raspberry or an esp32

    thank you

    Like

Leave a comment